States That Recognize “Stand Your Ground” Law

1.Alabama                              2. Arizona

3.Georgia                               4.Idaho


(The law does not include a duty to retreat, which courts have interpreted as a right to expansive self-defense.)

6.Indiana                               7.Kansas

8.Kentucky                            9.Louisiana

10Michigan                           11.Mississippi

12.Montana                           13.Nevada

14.North Carolina                15.Oklahoma


(Also does not include a duty to retreat.)

17.South Carolina                18.South Dakota

19.Tennessee                            20.Texas

21.Utah                                  22.Washington

(Also does not include a duty to retreat.)

23.West Virginia

President Obama
0 photos